2015 Vicki Sexual Freedom Award Recipients


Woodhull is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2015 Vicki Sexual Freedom Award; John D’Emilio, Monica Raye Simpson, and Diego Miguel Sanchez.

These are outstanding leaders and courageous activists,” said Ricci Levy, Executive Director of the Woodhull Sexual Freedom Alliance. “We are inspired by their work, by the lives they lead and look, with hope, toward a future they helped to secure.

Join us at the Vicki Sexual Freedom Award Recipients Roundtable and then Saturday night when we celebrate our honorees and present them each with an award recognizing their contributions to the sexual freedom movement!  

The 2015 Honorees

John D’Emilio, whose award will be presented by Carmen Vazqueź, is a pioneer in the field of gay and lesbian studies and the history of sexuality, authoring more than a half a dozen books, one of which was quoted by Supreme Court Associate Justice Anthony Kennedy in the 2003 Lawrence v. Texas case, the historic decision that declared state sodomy statutes unconstitutional.  Read more here.

Monica Raye Simpson, whose award will be presented by Ricci Levy, was named a new civil rights leader by Essence Magazine, and has organized extensively against human rights violations, the prison industrial complex, racism and intolerance, and the systematic physical and emotional violence inflicted upon African American women and the African American LBGT community in the South.  Read more here

Diego Miguel Sanchez, whose award will be presented by Rep. Barney Frank, is the Director of Policy for PFLAG National, sharing PFLAG’s vision of a world where diversity is celebrated and all people are respected, valued, and affirmed inclusive of their sexual orientation, gender identity, and gender expression.  As Senior Policy Advisor to Congressman Barney Frank, Diego made history as the first openly transgender person…Read more here.