2017 Vicki Sexual Freedom Award Recipients

Woodhull is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Vicki Sexual Freedom Award; Dr. Willie J. Parker and Loretta J. Ross.

It has been my honor to have worked with and been inspired by each of the 2017 Vicki Sexual Freedom Award recipients,” said Ricci Levy, President and CEO of the Woodhull Sexual Freedom Alliance. “They’ve dedicated their lives to advancing sexual freedom and to securing a future where our human rights are fully embodied in our lives.”

Join us Friday and then again on Saturday to celebrate our honorees and present them each with an award recognizing their contributions to the sexual freedom movement!  

The 2017 Honorees

Willie J. Parker, MD, MPH, MSc has focused his work on violence against women, sexual assault, and reproductive rights and justice through advocacy and provision of contraceptive and abortion services. Most notably Dr. Parker is a recipient of the 2013 Physicians for Reproductive Health Dr. George Tiller Provider Award, the 2015 Helen Rodriguez-Trias Social Justice Award and the 2016 Dr. Felicia Stewart Advocacy Award from the American Public Health Association, and the 2016 Dr. David Gunn Lifetime Achievement Award from the Abortion Care Network.  He also was recently honored by the United Nations Office of Human Rights as one of 12 Women’s Human Rights Defenders on the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the United Nations’ Fourth World Conference on Women. He is also a recipient of Planned Parenthood’s 2015 Margaret Sanger Award.  Read more here.

Loretta J. Ross is one of the creators of the term “Reproductive Justice.” Ms. Ross has a four-decade history in social justice activism. She has worked with SisterSong Women of Color Reproductive Justice Collective, the National Center for Human Rights Education, the Center for Democratic Renewal/National Anti-Klan Network and the National Organization for Women (NOW). She was one of the first African American women to direct a rape crisis center in the 1970s.  Ms. Ross was National Co-Director of the April 25, 2004 March for Women’s Lives in Washington D.C., the largest protest march in U.S. history with more than one million participants. Read more here.